Steering Committee

The Steering Committee, an eight member executive committee of the Policy Board, identifies the principle problems facing the state's criminal justice system and makes procedural recommendations to the Policy Board and to the various grant program advisory committees. Having decided which problems facing the state are top priorities, the Steering Committee makes recommendations to the grant advisory committees to ensure that relevant aspects of the identified problems are addressed. Further, the Steering Committee is empowered to specifically coordinate responses to any of the state's priority areas by requesting that grant advisory committees concentrate on specific delineated projects or activities to be advertised in requests for proposals.


  • A.T. Wall - Chair
    Director, Rhode Island Department of Corrections
  • To Be Selected - Vice-Chair
  • Colonel Ann C. Assumpico
    Superintendent, Rhode Island State Police
  • Mary S. McElroy, Esq.
    Rhode Island Public Defender
  • Honorable Peter F. Kilmartin
    Rhode Island Attorney General
  • Honorable Alice B. Gibney
    Presiding Justice, Rhode Island Superior Court
  • Major Michael Quinn
    Director, Johnson & Wales University - Campus Safety & Security
  • Chief Dean Hoxsie
    President, Rhode Island Police Chiefs Association
  • Rebecca Boss
    Director, Rhode Island Department of Behavioral Healthcare, Developmental Disabilities & Hospitals
  • Trista D. Piccola
    Director, Rhode Island Department of Children, Youth & Families